Hi there,

My name is Steven and I am new to word press.  As I said in my profile, in the “About Me” section, my name is Steven Weingarten and I graduated from Arizona State University.  I have a Bachelor’s degree in Justice Studies.  I consider myself as a moderate person who does not blindly follow political parties or ideology.  I also am an independent rather than being a democrat or republican.  I am writing this blog so I can share my view points on current events and issues facing America in this day and age.  I will tell the situation as unbiased as possible and then share my thoughts afterwards, and they may not always be politically correct or popular.  I do encourage responses and other view points.  I do appreciate being more informed about such issues and if I misrepresent a fact at the time of the post, I do appreciate the correct information.   

Today, I would like to tackle recent news about the Christmas Day bomber.  On that day in 2009, this person from Nigeria traveled to Yemen to be trained by al-Qaeda, went back through Nigeria, then Denmark, and on the to Detroit, Michigan.  He attempted to detonate a bomb which failed and now he is in a federal prison in Michigan.  Now I will give my brief opinion on this subject.  I do agree that this person should be in jail for life (if he doesn’t receive the Death Penalty) on charges that should include attempt of murder, terrorism, attempt to destroy federal property, etc.  I do agree that this shows that the federal government should fix its policies that every government in the United States in every city, county, state, federal/national, and US international governments and agencies should keep each other in the loop  and work together to prevent such tragedies.  This is where the “crack in the system” should be corrected, for every agency with the United States should work together.  Our enemies are working together, why not us in the Untied States?  This is possible where al-Qaeda can win a battle in the War on Terror.  In the sense that they are causing disruption in the US and the world by slowing us down.  They rattle and disrupt the entire transportation and everyone is distracted with security and “fixing the problem” rather than looking for and continually dismantling known terrorists organizations.  This is what they want and since Christmas to now (about 1.5 weeks), we are still discussing the situation and figuring out what is wrong.  We should got out on an other offensive to look for and dismantle terrorist organizations, locally to globally. 

Now, this entire event affected the airline security.  The TSA (Transportation Security Administration) is in the process, if not already implementing full body scans to make sure that no one is carrying things made out of metal.  On one hand, those who support this measure, such as the TSA, claim that current measures are not enough to protect Americans and that they need these measures are needed and they are designed to protect our safety.  And in theory, this would help eliminate racially profiling people.  For example, male Muslims from the Middle East (as patterns show) possibly have ties to Muslim extremists, therefore subjected to additional security measures.  Opponents say it’s quite the opposite.  It is an invasion of privacy because if you are using technology to take full body scans you are essentially looking at a digital version of a naked person.  Using these techniques is like attacking a person because it is assaulting a person’s dignity and humiliates the person with such scans.   And with or without alternative pat-downs, morally speaking this may be an equivalent to a pat down which makes people uncomfortable.  It can be construed that it violates the 4th amendment rights because they are intruding on your freedom and they are searching you without a warrent.  Here is my view: When in the United States airlines are now encouraged to use these body scans, I do feel that it is an invasion.  It is violating a person’s right to privacy.  It is one thing to empty your pockets or remove your shoes for metal detectors.  And things can them move more seamlessly without having more problems than needed.  To split the difference, I can understand when someone is profiled because they raise red flags that can be based on racial profiling, unusual behavior, etc.  I can understand that when such red flags are raised, then these suspects can be questioned and go through these full body scans as needed for additional security.  But for those who do not raise any kind of red flags, then regular metal detectors should be enough.   

I feel that no matter the security beefs we put up in America, there will always be that “crack in the system.”  Although the crack was when the U.S. embassy was warned about this breach from the terrorists and they only put him on a watch list, but not the “no fly list”.  That is where we went wrong which goes to prove there should be more interagency cooperation with each other.  The TSA on its end has responsiblity to not to pull him over to question him further since he paid in cash, had ties to Yemen where al-Qaeda trained him,  had no luggage, and had no passport or visa and the TSA did not prevent him from coming in? These problems should be addressed. 

Steve

